Black Diamond Pursuit 25 vs Black Diamond Women's Pursuit 15

Black Diamond Pursuit 25

Black Diamond

Black Diamond Pursuit 25

$199.95

vs

Quick take: The Black Diamond Women's Pursuit 15 costs $20 less; the Black Diamond Pursuit 25 carries more (25 vs 15 liters); the Black Diamond Women's Pursuit 15 is lighter (1.19 vs 1.59 lbs).

Which one to buy

Twenty dollars buys 10 L and a published fit. The Pursuit 25 holds 25 L for $199.95 and comes in two torso sizes, 16-18.5 and 18.5-21 in, on a harness borrowed from Black Diamond's Distance running packs. The Women's Pursuit 15 holds 15 L for $179.95 in one women's-specific size, and Black Diamond doesn't say what torso range it covers or how the fit differs.

The smaller pack's argument is its features. It has Z-pole storage for folding trekking poles and an external hydration pocket you can refill without unpacking, and it weighs 1.19 lbs to the Pursuit 25's 1.59. Its limit is room: 15 L gets tight with cold-weather layers. The Pursuit 25 has a dedicated hydration pouch with a reservoir clip and enough space for a full day in changing weather. Both carry the same lifetime defects warranty.

For most day hikers, the extra $20 for the 25 L is money well spent. The 15 suits short hikes where poles go on and off all day.

Black Diamond Pursuit 25

For day hikers who need room for layers and lunch and want to pick a torso size from a published chart.

Black Diamond Women's Pursuit 15

Suited to women on short hikes who use folding poles and want them stowed without taking the pack off.

SpecBlack Diamond Pursuit 25Black Diamond Women's Pursuit 15
Price$199.95$179.95
Rating——
TypeDaypackDaypack
Frame TypeFramelessFrameless
Capacity25 L15 L
Weight1.59 lbs1.19 lbs
Max LoadNot specified by the manufacturerNot specified by the manufacturer
Torso FitSized S/M 16-18.5 in / M/L 18.5-21 inOne size, women's-specific fit
Material96% recycled nylon / 4% recycled polyester100% recycled body fabric
Back PanelBreathable back panel (frame construction not stated by the maker)Padded contact back panel (construction not detailed by the maker)
Adjustable torsoNoNo
Ventilated backNoNo
Raincover includedNoNo
Hipbelt pocketsNoNo
Removable lidNoNo
Hydration sleeveYesYes
Fits BV500 bear canNoNo
WarrantyBlack Diamond Practical Product Lifetime Warranty against defectsBlack Diamond Practical Product Lifetime Warranty against defects

Pros & cons

Black Diamond Pursuit 25

  • ✓The Continuous Fit harness comes from Black Diamond's Distance running packs, so it is built to stay put at speed.
  • ✓Two torso sizes (16-18.5 and 18.5-21 in) are more than most 25 L daypacks offer.
  • ✓Body fabric is 96% recycled nylon.
  • ✓Dedicated hydration pouch with a reservoir clip.
  • ✓Lifetime warranty against defects.
  • ✗$199.95 is at the top of the 25 L daypack range.
  • ✗No raincover and no published load rating.
  • ✗Store variant weights (740-760 g) are a little above the 720 g page figure.

Black Diamond Women's Pursuit 15

  • ✓Women's-specific harness at the same 540 g as the unisex model.
  • ✓Trekking-pole storage and an outside-access hydration pocket.
  • ✓Recycled body fabric and a lifetime defects warranty.
  • ✗Black Diamond does not say how the women's fit differs or what torso range it covers.
  • ✗Priced at $179.95 for only 15 L.
  • ✗One size, no hipbelt pockets listed, no raincover.

Black Diamond Pursuit 25 vs Black Diamond Women's Pursuit 15: common questions

Is the Women's Pursuit 15 big enough for a full day?▾

In warm weather with a light kit, perhaps. At 15 L it gets tight once cold-weather layers go in, and the Pursuit 25 has 10 L more.

Does the Pursuit 25 have the same pole storage?▾

Black Diamond doesn't mention Z-pole storage on the 25, so don't count on stowing poles on the move. The Women's Pursuit 15 has Z-pole storage and an external hydration pocket; the Pursuit 25 has a dedicated hydration pouch with a reservoir clip.